8 Different Types of Swans

Different Types of Swans

Swans are some of the most giant flying birds and the most prominent living members of the Anatidae family.

They are part of the Anatidae family of birds, part of the Cygnus genus of birds. Geese and ducks are the closest cousins of swans, but they are not the same bird species.

Geese and ducks are the closest cousins of swans. Read on as we discuss the different types of swans.

Table of Contents

1. Black Swan

The Black Swan has black feathers with a white line on the wings, a red beak with a white bar and tip, and grayish-black legs and feet.

The male and female look the same, but the Cob has a bigger beak and a straighter beak. Cygnets are soft grey and brown.

If you compare the Black Swan to other types of swan, it has the longest neck based on its size. In New Zealand, the Black Swan was hunted to extinction before being brought back in 1864.

2. Black-necked Swan

The black-necked swan is among the different types of swans. These swan types have white bodies and blackheads and necks.

They have a grayish beak with a large red knob near the base of the beak and a white eye-stripe.

Both sexes have similar appearances, but the male is bigger than the female.

Also, they are the largest waterfowls in South America. Their legs are far back on their bodies, making it hard for them to get up in the air, but they are strong fliers. 

3. Whooper Swan

The whooper swan is an uncommon breeding bird in the United Kingdom. It has white plumage, a yellow beak with a black tip, and dark grey to black legs and feet.

Males are comparable to females, however, males are usually larger. Also, the Whooper Swan is similar to the Bewick’s Swan, except it has a little longer beak and has more yellow on it.

4. Mute Swan

One of the largest and heaviest flying birds is the Mute Swan. They are completely white, with a slight yellow-orange tinge on the top of the head, an orange-red beak with a black tip, black legs, and feet. The cygnets have grey-brown legs and a grey beak.

Lagoons, marshes, reed beds, and rivers with slow currents are frequent places to find them. Clean, plant-filled waterways are always their first choice. Further, they can grow in reservoirs and ornamental lakes as well.

5. Bewick’s Swan

The Bewick’s swan is another swan type among the different types of swans. It is a North American subspecies of the native Tundra Swan, and it is a common sighting in Alaska. People named Bewick’s Swan after Thomas Bewick, an illustrator specializing in animal paintings.

Adult Bewicks have white feathers and a beak with striking black-and-yellow patterns that end beyond the nostrils. Also, they have round heads, short, straight necks, and black legs.

6. Coscoroba Swan

Coscoroba Swans are small, so they don’t have to run across the lake in order to fly.

The Coscoroba Swan is white except for black wingtips, brown eyes, a bright reddish-pink beak, and reddish-pink legs and feet, which people see when the bird is in flight. Both sexes are the same.

Further, these swans have bodies, heads, and beaks that are a lot like those of geese.

7. Whooper Swan

The Whooper Swan’s feathers are all white, except for a yellow beak with a black tip. Its legs and feet are dark-grey to black, and its beak is yellow with a black tip.

The male and female look alike, but the male is usually a little bigger. Also, it looks a lot like Bewick’s Swan, but it has more yellow on its beak and is a little bigger than the other one.

8. Whistling Swan

The Whistling Swan looks a lot like the bigger Trumpeter Swan. It has white feathers, a black beak with a salmon-pink streak along the mouthline, and a lot of yellow at the base of the beak.

It also has dark brown eyes and black legs and feet. The female is almost the same as the male, but she’s usually a little smaller.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The largest species of the falcon is regarded as a bird of prey. The coasts of the tundra,…